alert CSS Maintenance
The Personal Property module for Citizen Self-Service (online bill pay) will be offline for maintenance from April 18 at 5PM through April 22 at 5PM.
close alert

James River Soil & Water Conservation District

James River Soil & Water Conservation District

James River Soil and Water Conservation District 
6380 Scott Memorial Park 
Prince George, VA 23875 

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 129,
Prince George VA 23875

Phone: (804) 732-6550 

The James River Soil and Water Conservation District is a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia, organized and managed by local citizens assigned under Law with the responsibility of protecting and improving our soil and water resources. The District is principally supported by financial assistance received from the Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR) with additional local funding support from both Prince George and Chesterfield Counties. In partnership with local, state, and federal agencies, the District provides technical conservation assistance to landowners, units of government, and businesses to identify, discuss and solve natural resource conservation issues.


The following services are provided:

  • Facilitate the Virginia Agricultural Cost Share Program (VACS)
    • Develop Conservation Planning for Farmland
    • Implement Best Management Practices
    • Protect Soil and Water Resources
  • Implementation of the Virginia Conservation Assistance Program (VCAP)
    • Implement Best Management Practices
    • Protect Soil, Water and Habitat Resources
    • Promote Virginia native plants in residential and business communities
  • Provide Youth and Adult Education to increase public awareness of conservation issues.
    • Coordinate and host the local Envirothon competition for High School students in Prince George and Chesterfield Counties.
  • Provide the rental of a Great Plains 7' No-Till Seeder Drill to the residents of Prince George and Chesterfield Counties.


Board of Directors
Carey Allen, Chairman - Chesterfield County (Elected)
Laura Thompson, Vice Chairman - Chesterfield County (Elected)
Jerry Ford, Treasurer- Prince George County (Elected)
Andrew Petik, Prince George County (Elected)
Scott Reiter, Prince George County (Appointed)

Associate Directors 
Sierra Seekford, Chesterfield County 
John (Zane) Bernard, Chesterfield County 
Avis Bennett, Prince George County 

District Administrator and Education Director: Brianna Morring 
Conservation Specialist: Joseph Gerdes 

Want to be emailed when this page is updated?

Sign Up Now