alert Reminder: Real Estate Taxes and Stormwater Fee are due December 5, 2022.
A direct link to the online bill pay system can be found here.
close alert

Tax Relief for Disabled Veterans (or Surviving Spouses)

Tax Relief for Disabled Veterans (or Surviving Spouses)


Tax Relief for Disabled Veterans (or Surviving Spouses)

The Code of Virginia exempts from taxation the real property of any veteran or surviving spouse who has been rated by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs to have a 100 percent service-connected and permanent and total disability, and who occupies the real property as his or her primary place of residence.

58.1-3219.5. Exemption from taxes on property for disabled veterans. 

A. Pursuant to Article X, Section 6-A of the Constitution of Virginia, and for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2011, the General Assembly hereby exempts from taxation the real property, including the joint real property of husband and wife, of any veteran who has been rated by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs or its successor agency pursuant to federal law to have a 100 percent service-connected, permanent, and total disability, and who occupies the real property as his principal place of residence. 

B. The surviving spouse of a veteran eligible for the exemption set forth in this article shall also qualify for the exemption, so long as the death of  the veteran occurs on or after January 1, 2011 and the Surviving Spouse does not remarry. The exemption applies without any restriction on the spouse’s moving to a different principal place of residence for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019.

Documentation Required (Veteran)

  • Complete Application
  • Approved letter of disability issued by the U. S. Department of Veteran Affairs
  • Photo Identification (Driver's License and Military Identification Card)
  • Proof of Residency (Utility Bill or Bank Statement)
  • Authorization for Release of Information to Mortgage Companies (if applicable)

Documentation Required (Surviving Spouse)

  • Complete Application
  • Approved letter of disability issued by the U. S. Department of Veteran Affairs
  • Photo Identification
  • Proof of Residency (Utility Bill or Bank Statement)
  • Certificate of Marriage
  • Death Certificate (on or after January 1, 2011)
  • Authorization for Release of Information to Mortgage Companies (if applicable)
For more information on Motor Vehicle Exemption or Reduced Tax Rate for Disabled Veterans, click here.

Forms

Commissioner of the Revenue

Darlene M Rowsey,  MCR (804) 722-8740
Email Me

Want to be emailed when this page is updated?

Sign Up Now