alert Tax Payment Notice:
All Real Estate tax, Personal Property tax, and Stormwater Utility fees are now due June 24, 2022
Penalty and Interest of Zero Percent (0%) for all payments received on or before August 31, 2022.
close alert

Personal Property Changes

Personal Property Changes


Personal Property Changes

Purchased Personal Property

When you purchase a vehicle or trailer, please register with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). When you purchase a boat, please register with the Department of Wildlife Resources (DWR). At the time that you register your items, please ensure your address and garage jurisdiction information is correct.

After the items are registered, please submit the Individual Personal Property Tax Return to our office or contact us at (804) 722-8740.

If you purchase a vehicle (car, truck, motorcycle, motor home, etc) or trailer anytime during the tax year,  you will receive a prorated bill from the purchase date to the end of the tax year. For the number of months billed on a vehicle, please refer to the Proration table below.

If you purchase a boat or mobile home after January 1st of the tax year, you will not receive a tax bill for the current tax year. You will receive a bill due by June 5 of the following tax year.

Sold Personal Property

Within 60 days of disposal of a vehicle or trailer, please contact the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Once the information has been reported to DMV, please contact our office at (804) 722-8740 to notify us of the disposal date.

Within 60 days of disposal of a boat, please contact the Department of Wildlife Resources (DWR). Once the information has been reported to DWR, please contact our office at (804) 722-8740 to notify us of the disposal date. You can notify DWR with this form.

Depending on when you disposed of the personal property, the Commissioner of the Revenue's office may require additional proof, such as bill of sale, to support your disposal date.

If the tax bill was paid for the year during which your personal property was sold, you may be entitled to a prorated refund.

Move Within Virginia

Within 60 days of moving, please notify the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) with your new address and garage jurisdiction change. If the tax bill was paid for the year during which your personal property was moved, and you moved to a Virginia prorating locality, you may be entitled to a prorated refund.

Please fill out the Address Correction Form and mail or email to our office at commrev@princegeorgecountyva.gov.

To notify Department of Wildlife Resources that your boat has moved to another locality, please fill out the Change of Address form and mail or email it to our office at commrev@princegeorgecountyva.gov.

Move Out of State

The Code of Virginia 58.1-3511 requires localities to assess personal property taxes on vehicles with a weight of 10,000 pounds or less which are registered in Virginia, but normally garaged, docked, or parked in another state. Taxes on these vehicles are to be assessed by the Virginia locality where the vehicle is registered. To have your taxes adjusted, you must provide a copy of your new state registration for each personal property item billed by Prince George County. Once we receive this information, we can adjust your taxes accordingly.

Please fill out the Address Correction Form and mail or email to our office at commrev@princegeorgecountyva.gov.

Proration Schedule

Prince George County prorates Personal Property according to the schedule below:

Moved In
or Purchased Vehicle
Months Moved Out
or Vehicle Transferred
Months
JAN 01 to JAN 15 12 JAN 01 to JAN 15 0
JAN 16 to FEB 15 11 JAN 16 to FEB 15 1
FEB 16 to MAR 15 10 FEB 16 to MAR 15 2
MAR 16 to APR 15 9 MAR 16 to APR 15 3
APR 16 to MAY 15 8 APR 16 to MAY 15 4
MAY 16 to JUN 15 7 MAY 16 to JUN 15 5
JUN 16 to JUL 15 6 JUN 16 to JUL 15 6
JUL 16 to AUG 15 5 JUL 16 to AUG 15 7
AUG 16 to SEP 15 4 AUG 16 to SEP 15 8
SEP 16 to OCT 15 3 SEP 16 to OCT 15 9
OCT 16 to NOV 15 2 OCT 16 to NOV 15 10
NOV 16 to DEC 15 1 NOV 16 to DEC 15 11
DEC 16 to DEC 31 0 DEC 16 to DEC 31 12


Forms

Commissioner of the Revenue

Darlene M Rowsey,  MCR (804) 722-8740
Email Me

Sign Up Now