- Prince George County Code requires most businesses to obtain a business license.
- Businesses with gross receipts between $1,000 and $25,000 will pay a $25.00 license fee.
- Businesses with gross receipts between $25,001 and $50,000 will pay a $50.00 license fee.
- Businesses with gross receipts over $50,000 pay on a rate per $100 based on the particular business classification.
- For more information on business license rates, please check here.
- Businesses must satisfy all state or county requirements before beginning business in Prince George County.
- The Clerk's Office of the State Corporation Commission is the central filing office in Virginia for all assumed or fictitious names. For Form SCC59.1-70-BE, go to https://scc.virginia.gov/getattachment/a6b1b66e-301c-43fc-9e13-7d50cf37c14c/scc591-70in.pdf or visit https://cis.scc.virginia.gov to file online. You can also file your Limited Liability Corporation, Corporations and Limited Liability Partnerships through the State Corporation Commission at https://cis.scc.virginia.gov.
- The Planning and Zoning division must first approve all business locations in Prince George County. They can be reached at (804) 722-8678 or their website here. You will be required to complete either the Home Occupation Zoning Approval form or the Professional Business Zoning Approval form. There is a $25.00 fee for the Professional Business Zoning Approval Form. The Home Occupation Zoning Approval Form is free. Click here to access the Zoning Approval forms.
- A contractor’s license requires a valid State License (class A, B or C), Sub-Contractor Request Form and a Virginia Workers Compensation (VWC) Form 61A.
- Some businesses require different state licensing, health department inspection, police department registration, or business license inspection before a local license can be issued.
For assistance with the business license application or the licensing process, please contact our office at (804) 722-8740 or visit the office during normal business hours (Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.).
Annual Renewal Process
- Renewal musts be filed and paid for by March 1st every year to avoid late payment penalty. To obtain a copy of a renewal, please contact our office at (804) 722-8740 or email the office at firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Any changes in ownership structure, business activities or business address should be updated to the Commissioner of the Revenue.
- In the event you move to another location in Prince George County, you must obtain new zoning approval for your new location. Please provide the updated zoning approval to our office.
- In the event you cease business operations within Prince George County, you must notify the Commissioner of the Revenue in writing.