Circuit Court FAQ's
Where can I get a concealed handgun application?
You can obtain the application at the Circuit Court Clerk's Office or online at the link below. The application and a $50.00 fee will be required before processing. Any additional information concerning Concealed Handgun permits can be obtained at the Virginia State Police website.
SP-248 Concealed Handgun Permit Application Rev 07-01-2021 (virginia.gov)
What are the hours of the Circuit Court?
Our hours are 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday. All filings and financial transactions must be completed before 4:30 PM.
What is your mailing address?
Our mailing address is: P.O. Box 98, Prince George, VA 23875
Our physical address is: 6601 Courts Drive, Prince George VA 23875
Where can I pay my traffic fines?
Traffic fines are usually paid in the Clerk's Office of General District Court. Their telephone number is (804) 733-2783. If you appealed your case, it would be paid at the Clerk's Office of Circuit Court.
Where can I get a copy of my divorce decree?
You can obtain your divorce decree with the Prince George Circuit Court's Clerk Office if you finalized the decree with this court.
How do I probate an estate?
You must go to the Circuit Court of the county in which the decedent resided at the time of death. It will be necessary to contact the clerk of the Circuit Court in order to set up an appointment and review the information needed to qualify on the decedent's estate.
I am doing genealogical research, can you tell me how far back your land records go?
We have three (3) 1700's land records books: 1710-1714, 1713-1728 and 1787-1792. These books also include wills. The first book of complete land records begins in the year 1842. Marriage licenses begin around the early 1800's. We have computer scanned land records beginning 1977 to present. There are many historical records in our record room, but the principal center for genealogical research is the Library of Virginia, 800 East Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. The Clerk's Office is generally unable to respond to requests by mail to conduct genealogical research.
How can I find a lien on my property?
The record room has judgments, financing statements, mortgages and many other land records. The record room is open to the public. You can research lien information Monday through Friday from 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM. Any copies made must be paid by 4:30 PM.
What do I need to bring with me to obtain a marriage license?
Marriage licenses are issued Monday through Friday from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm. Both parties need to be present with a photo ID and $30.00 (cash, check ,money order or credit card). You must marry within 60 days of receiving your license.
How can I obtain a notary application?
A notary application can be obtained in the Clerk's Office of the Circuit Court or by visiting the Virginia Secretary of the Commonwealth site.
How can I contact a magistrate?
Hopewell/Prince George Office
c/o Riverside Regional Jail
500 Folar Trail
North Prince George, VA 23860