alert Tax Payment Notice:
All Real Estate tax, Personal Property tax, and Stormwater Utility fees are now due June 24, 2022
Penalty and Interest of Zero Percent (0%) for all payments received on or before August 31, 2022.
close alert

Code Compliance

Code Compliance Division
Administration Building, 1st floor
PO Box 68
6602 Courts Drive
Prince George, VA 23875

Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M.

Phone:  (804) 722-8659
Fax:       (804) 722-0702

About Us

The Code Compliance Division investigates complaints and performs inspections to ensure compliance with the Virginia Maintenance Code and the Code of the County of Prince George related to property maintenance, tall grass and discarded materials.

Property Maintenance


The County of Prince George has adopted Part III, Virginia Maintenance Code of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code. The provisions of this part of the USBC prescribe building maintenance regulations to be complied with in the maintenance and repair of existing structures and equipment.

Following receipt of a complaint and field-verification of a violation, a Notice of Violation is delivered to the building owner allowing 5 to 30 days to correct the violation. Building permits may be required for the corrective actions and must be obtained prior to performing any work. After the allotted time has passed, a follow-up inspection is performed to verify that the violation has been corrected.

View 2015 Virginia Maintenance Code.

Weeds and Grass

ShowImage (2)  ShowImage (3)  

The County requires property owners and tenants to keep weeds and grass cut to a height of no more than 15 inches. Following receipt of a complaint and field-verification of a violation, a Notice of Violation is delivered to the property owner allowing 10 days to correct the violation. After 10 days, a follow-up inspection is performed, and any uncorrected violation may be corrected by the County or a contractor hired by the County. The property owner is billed for the work performed by the County, and the Treasurer collects the debt.

Discarded Material, Trash, and Debris

ShowImage (4)

The County Code requires property owners and tenants to keep all exterior private property free from discarded materials, trash, debris, litter, and garbage. Trash, garbage, litter, and debris must be stored in proper containers and disposed of appropriately. Also, discarded or abandoned materials may not be deposited or stored on any property.

Prince George County... A global community where families thrive
and businesses prosper.

Sign Up Now