The County of Prince George and the Police Department need your help in cleaning up our county by getting rid of
County Code, Sec 78-16.1 – Restriction on keeping inoperable vehicles and removal of such vehicles.
This code section requires that all inoperable motor vehicles that are visible by someone standing at ground level
from outside of the property on which the vehicle is located be removed or complied with the Code of Virginia.
An inoperable motor vehicle is defined in Code of Virginia, § 15.2-905 as adopted by county code Sec. 78-16.1 as: " …any motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer which is not in operating condition; or does not display valid license plates; or does not display an inspection decal that is valid or does display an inspection decal that has been expired for more than 60 days. The provisions of this section shall not apply to a licensed business that is regularly engaged in business as an automobile dealer, salvage dealer or scrap processor.”
For further answers, please contact the Community Policing Unit at email@example.com or 804-863-1847.
Why is inoperable vehicle removal important to our community?
These inoperable vehicles detract from the aesthetics of its surroundings. Additionally, inoperable vehicles can be
hazardous to children and may be inhabited by vermin that may carry diseases that are harmful to the health of the
How many inoperable vehicles can I have on my property?
None. It is commonly believed that a homeowner can have one vehicle that is inoperable, but the code does not allow it.
How many days do I have to get my inoperable vehicle in compliance with the law?
You have 10 days without any legal ramifications.
What if I cannot get my inoperable vehicle in compliance with the law within 10 days?
An officer will conduct a follow up after 10 days and provide the County Attorney’s Office with specific details of the
property, inoperable vehicle owner, inoperable vehicle information, and specific reasons why the inoperable vehicle is still in violation. After the County Attorney’s Office has been notified, the property owner and/or inoperable vehicle owner will received a certified letter requesting the vehicle be brought into compliance within 30 days.
What if I cannot get my inoperable vehicle in compliance with the law within 30 days?
Your inoperable motor vehicle will be towed away and stored.
What other legal consequences am I subject to if I do not get my inoperable vehicle in compliance with the law within 30 days?
The cost of removal and disposal shall be charged to the owner of the property or vehicle. The cost of removal shall be
collected as taxes and shall constitute a lien against the property until paid.
What are some ways I can shield my inoperable vehicle from view?
You can house your inoperable vehicle in an enclosed building/structure or behind a fence as long as it is not visible by
someone standing at ground level from outside of the property
Where can I find more information about inoperable vehicles?