alert Tax Payment Notice:
All Real Estate tax, Personal Property tax, and Stormwater Utility fees are now due June 24, 2022
Penalty and Interest of Zero Percent (0%) for all payments received on or before August 31, 2022.
close alert

2022 Virginia Sales Tax Holiday

2022 Virginia Sales Tax Holiday



Virginia’s Sales Tax Holiday Returns on Friday, Aug. 5 through Sunday, Aug. 7, 2022

Seal of Virginia

 

Commonwealth of Virginia
Office of Governor Glenn Youngkin

 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  August 4, 2022

CONTACTS:

Office of the Governor
Macaulay Porter
Email: Macaulay.Porter@governor.virginia.gov

 

Governor Glenn Youngkin Announces Dates for 2022 Virginia Sales Tax Holiday

Virginia’s Sales Tax Holiday Returns on Friday, Aug. 5 through Sunday, Aug. 7, 2022

 

RICHMOND, VA — Governor Glenn Youngkin today announced the dates of Virginia’s sales tax holiday weekend – Friday, Aug. 5 – Sunday, Aug. 7, 2020. Specifically, the sales tax holiday starts at 12:01 a.m. on Aug. 5 and wraps up on Aug. 7 at 11:59 p.m. During this period, Virginians can buy a number of items in stores, online, by mail order, and by telephone without paying sales tax.

“During a time of high inflation and gas prices, Virginians will receive some needed tax relief this weekend as they support local businesses across the Commonwealth,” said Governor Glenn Youngkin. “Our administration will continue to stand up for parents trying to buy school supplies for their children, Virginians preparing for upcoming weather-related events, and families struggling with the cost of living challenges. Building on the record tax relief for Virginians in this year’s budget, lowering the cost of living remains a top priority for my administration as we work together to make Virginia the best place to live, work, and raise a family.”

"The sales tax holiday benefits both businesses and consumers," said Secretary of Finance Steve Cummings. "And, with inflation at its highest level since 1981, Virginians need this tax relief now more than ever."

 

What items are eligible?

·     School supplies, clothing, and footwear

·     Qualified school supplies - $20 or less per item

·     Qualified clothing and footwear - $100 or less per item

·     Hurricane and emergency preparedness products 

·     Portable generators - $1,000 or less per item

·     Gas-powered chainsaws - $350 or less per item

·     Chainsaw accessories - $60 or less per item

·     Other specified hurricane preparedness items - $60 or less per item

·     Energy Star™ and WaterSense™​ products

·     Qualifying Energy Star™ or WaterSense™ products purchased for noncommercial home or personal use - $2,500 or less per item

Detailed lists of qualifying items and more information for retailers can be found in the Sales Tax Holiday Guidelines and on Virginia Tax’s website.

 

###